The Thin Blue Line #BlueLivesMatter

Previous Entry Share Next Entry
CONCACAF Gold Cup Qtr FInals @ Cowboys Stadium on July 19
Cowboys Stadium

The CONCACAF Gold Cup™ is the biennial nations championship for North and Central America and the Caribbean, and is the confederation's premier event.  The first sporting event to be held at the new Cowboys Stadium will be a futbol match between Costa Rica and either Mexico or Guadeloupe. Mr. Wolf has secured tickets and will be attending.

The Gold Cup evolved from a series of championships in the region dating back to 1941. It began in its current structure in 1991. At times, the CONCACAF championship also served as a qualifier for the World Cup, but since its inception, the Gold Cup has been an independent championship irrespective of other tournaments. However, once every four years, the winner of the Gold Cup serves as the region's entrant to the FIFA Confederations Cup.

Initially an eight-team event, the Gold Cup finals have grown into a 12-nation championship with countries qualifying from the three regions of CONCACAF, North America, Central America (UNCAF) and the Caribbean (Caribbean Football Union). The tournament features the best players from the region, and between 1996- 2005 included guest teams from South America, Africa and Asia. The United States and Mexico have each won four Gold Cup titles with Canada claiming the one other crown. From a relatively modest 40,000 that witnessed the first Gold Cup final at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in 1991, when the United States outlasted Honduras on penalties 4:3, the Gold Cup has grown to the region's most anticipated soccer event, routinely drawing a capacity crowds.

Follow the CONCACAF Gold Cup™ action  here,,12802,00.html

Tags: ,


Log in

No account? Create an account